Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 31st, 2009

Jai ho!

Slumdog Millionaire

Slumdog Millionaire

Yes, I watched it!

Did you? If not, you should. Really.

I was surprised. It’s a beautiful movie. Kind of a drama, but delicious to watch.

My hubby is crazy about India… I wasn’t.

The idea of going to the toilet and not having toilet paper, to have to be careful about which hand to use greeting people etc. I’m a quite hygienic person. As we say in Brazil: “I’m poor but I’m clean”.

Well, part of this reality you can see in the movie. The toilet is a box with a hole to where “everything” goes. Actually, this reminds me of a toilet that I used right here, in Tartu. Never mind. But this is not a sign of poverty or 3rd world’s privilege. You can find it in Europe too.

You hardly see that in Brazil, maybe in extremely old pieces of land where nobody lives anymore. We love the idea of toilets, and they have to be clean! You can go visit anyone at a favela (our own way to call our dear slums) and they will have a toilet. But not only that, also TV – maybe even plasma ones -, cellphones, cable TV, a brand new stereo etc.

Anyways, what was nice for me to see was the similarities to my culture. They dance as if they were born dancing – just like Brazilians -, they have crowded trains – just like the Santa Cruz-Central do Brasil -, they have lots of colors – just like in Brazil where nobody dresses in black for Christmas or new year, that’s a sin. I felt like this is a missing part of Brazil, or Brazil is their missing part. It’s like a piece of home. A piece of what I learned to love – and hate sometimes -, but a piece of me. It’s very nice.

India is in my maps now and I really wanna go there.

But, getting back to the movie… The music is F-A-N-T-A-S-T-I-C!!!

Here goes the soundtrack for download!

Have fun!

Read Full Post »